Buckland Dafflin-Mitchell House Friendship Hall Edmondson House
Home
ABOUT US TOWN HALL HISTORY MEET THE PEOPLE RESOURCES
Daffin Mitchell House
Daffin-Mitchell House
Photograph Photograph Courtesy Marc Bramble
Daffin-Mitchell House

Once known as the "House of the Hinges," the "Brick Hotel," and as recently as the 1920's - the "East New Market Hotel;" Colonel Joseph Daffin, a merchant, built the house between 1796 and 1798. He and his wife both died in 1798. It also belonged to Major Anthony Manning "an officer of the War of 1812." There are many fine period architectural details still in existence. The structure got its interesting name "House of the Hinges" because of an unusual set of hinges found on a meat house at the rear of the building. The house boasts a 1 story "kitchen wing."

Please visit the following links to experience a bit of the heritage that lives on
in some of the historic places in East New Market.

Historic Homes of East New Market:
  • Buckland
  • Dafflin-Mitchell House
  • Edmondson House
  • Friendship Hall
  • New Market House

    Other Historic Structures:
  • Houses of Worship
  • Public Places & Schools

    More Historical Information On Our Town:
  • East New Market - A Brief History
  • Our Historic District
  • Meet The People


  • Some information on these pages has been provided from the notes of Marc Bramble.

    Some information on these pages was found in:
    "Between The Nanticoke and the Choptank - An Architectural History of Dorchester County, Maryland;" Edited by Christopher Weeks, with contributions by Michael O. Bourne, Geoffrey Henry, Catherine Moore, Calvin Mowbray, M. Fred Tidwell.
    Published in 1984 by The Johns Hopkins University Press and The Maryland Historical Trust


    Home    |    About Us    |    Contact Us    |    Site Directory
    © Copyright 2004 - Town of East New Market - All rights reserved.
    This site was funded in part by the
    Rural Development Center - University of Maryland Eastern Shore
    Questions?Email: enmtownhall@gmail.com