A Brief History
East New Market was settled during the second half of the seventeenth century and began as a trading post between Native Americans and European settlers.
The area was first mentioned in a grant to Henry Sewell dated 1649 in London, England. On a map dated 1673, the region is largely depicted as being inhabited by woodland indians with a fort located near the town known as "Fort Warwick". After colonization, some of the earliest family names were Adams, Anderton, Melville, Pattison, Rix, Smith, and Taylor. These families settled into basically four land grants known as Bath, York, Carthegena, and Warwick. Warwick was situated between what is currently the Town of Secretary and East New Market. This area was largely owned by the Hooper family. The next group of families to purchase land and build residences were the Daffin's, Ennalls', Gist's, Hodson's, Hicks', McKeel's, Newton's, Sulivane's and Thompson's.
A post office was established in 1803 and shortly thereafter "East" was added to the town's name, renaming the town East New Market in 1827. The town was incorporated under the session laws of 1832, and a town commission was instituted, predating by many years the adoption of that form of small-town government by many other jurisdictions.
Please visit the following links to experience a bit of the heritage that lives on
in some of the historic places in East New Market.
© Copyright 2004 - Town of East New Market - All rights reserved.
This site was funded in part by the
Rural Development Center - University of Maryland Eastern Shore